Heart of the tree – Pre-visual

Every 2nd year on the animation course gets crew assign to a 3rd year project of their chosen. There are only a few films I actually liked and unfortunately there are only two 3d animation short films; the rest are 2d animation short films. I wanted to work on the heart of the tree because of my skills I can apply to this film. Not only that I really like the style they’re going for. The story is about respect and greed between a hare, hyena and a tree.
My role on this project is to create a pre-visual for scene 3 and scene 6, both scene are internal of the tree.
In scene 3 the hire is allow to explore into the tree secret place and is offer a gift to say thank you. My job was to use a low ploy version of the hire and block out animate quick movements and poses within the scene matching the animatic.  In addition to this, I had to set up the cameras, yet again matching the animatic but I was aloud to have some freedom of setting up different camera angles to allow the director and producer to have an option between the shots. This was the same method for scene 6 with the hyena being greedy and eating the berries that hang from vines.
Once the rough block down animation and camera setup is done, I started to import model asset, which have been finish into the scene. Also I stared to model the vines by using a ep curve tool and extrude a cylinder (low ploy) to fill the environment as close to the concept art work.
 
Internal concept by Freddie Horton
 

Currently I’m still modeling extra assets for the environment, which I will post a final version of the pre-visual, in my next post.
Leave a Reply

